Sunday, July 6, 2014

2014 PGLL Senior Champs - Saskatoon Brewers by CLesanko

The Saskatoon Brewers are the 2014 Senior Prairie Gold Lacrosse League (PGLL) Champions. This is the second time in three years that the Brewers have managed to be the best in the province. The Saskatoon Brewers turned their club around after some turmoil in 2013. Shawn Volk -Brewers captain and leader, developed a Brewers team with speed, skill and class. The Brewers went on to win 16-9 over the Moose Jaw Chiefs in the championship game on Sunday at the Cooperators Centre. This was the Chiefs first year in the PGLL with a veteran crew of many years of experience playing lacrosse. Unfortunately, experience was not enough to beat the young and quick Brewers. The Brewers had 10 different scorers but leading the way was playoff PGLL MVP Bryton Thorarinson with 3 goals and 4 assists. The majority of the Chiefs scoring came from their PGLL All-Star's Carter Davis 4 goals and Taylor Dobrescu 3 goals. The Brewers All-Star goaltender Eric Hyde was sensational at the beginning of the game to keep the Brewers ahead of the Chiefs. Adam Saunders from the Brewers was also selected to the PGLL All-Star team chipped in with 3 goals and 2 assists.

The Moose Jaw Mustangs finished second in the standings and also knocked off the Regina Heat in the semifinals 13-12. The Regina Heat where the defending champs from 2013. PGLL Commissioner Chris Lesanko commented on the championship weekend, “I would just like to congratulate Shawn Volk and the Saskatoon Brewers on the turnaround season from last year and on the Senior PGLL title this year. It was definitely a pleasure and an honor to watch the competition this year in the senior division. The competitiveness at this level,  I have not seen before and I had been around for 15 years. It is good to see more senior teams popping up where it gives individuals an opportunity to continue their lacrosse within the province of Saskatchewan. We have always had the talent is just great to showcase it after the Junior level now with other competitive teams and centres. Thank you to all of the volunteers, coaches, referees and players from providing an enjoyable and exciting weekend of lacrosse. I look forward to next year already! ”

All-Star Team

Moose Jaw Chiefs- Carter Davis

Moose jaw Chiefs-Taylor Dobrescu

Estevan Impact - Rhett Handley

Saskatoon Brewers – Eric Hyde

Regina Heat – Kyle Bellegay

Regular-season MVP- Dallan Larson

Playoff MVP - Bryton Thorarinson

For more updates and statistics please visit the PGLL website at or visit us on Facebook or contact Chris Lesanko @ 581.9993